Governor's Volunteer Awards

The Governor's Volunteer Service Award honors the true spirit of volunteerism by recognizing individuals, groups and businesses that make a significant contribution to their community through volunteer service. Any person, group, or entity from the public, nonprofit and private sector may be nominated for an award to their county award coordinator. County award coordinators submit their top 10 volunteer nominations per county. There are categories for the type of nominee (senior, youth, faith-based, family, group, business, etc.). Additional categories are based upon the area of service (animal, environmental, disaster, youth, preservation, etc.). County recommendations are reviewed by the Commission and awards are given out in the counties.

Meet our 2021 winners!

The Governor's Medallion Award for Volunteer Service was implemented in 2006 to recognize the top 20-25 volunteers in the state. Medallion recipients are nominated at the county level by the county award coordinator. Only one Medallion nomination is permitted per county. A statewide panel reviews and evaluates all these nominations to determine the award recipients. Medallion Award recipients are honored at an annual recognition ceremony. The medallion is placed around the neck to signify the volunteer's great service to the community.

Meet our 2021 Medallion winners!

Nomination Forms

Starting October 2021, nominations may be made online or by using the downloadable nomination form, form in MS Word, or en español. If using the nomination form, send the form to the county award coordinator by clicking on the appropriate county below. Online nominations will automatically be sent to the county award coordinators. Be aware county coordinators may select an earlier deadline for accepting nominations. Note that Forsyth County nominations will be accepted through January 31 at 11:59 pm.

Read tips for an effective nomination.