Accessibility of State of North Carolina Websites

State of North Carolina websites are designed to reduce barriers to content for visitors with disabilities by implementing requirements that allow an inclusive, accessible online experience for users with assistive technology. Examples of the platform’s accessible design include:

  • Easy and logical navigation;
  • Access to information in a clear and consistent manner for screen readers;
  • Keyboard accessibility; and
  • Legible fonts and high-contrast colors for easier readability.

The platform incorporates federally mandated Section 508 compliance standards and best practices recommended by the World Wide Web Consortium’s latest Web Content Accessibility Guidelines for web accessibility. Some of these included are: 

  • Text alternative fields for non-text elements.
  • All information conveyed with color can also be understood without color.
  • Legible fonts and high-contrast colors for easy readability.
  • Designed web pages so that all content presented without an associated style sheet does not lose information or structure.
  • Identified row and column headers in data tables.
  • Keyboard accessibility, where all functionality is available through the use of a keyboard and without the use of a mouse.
  • “Skip to main content” link at the top of each page permitting users to skip repetitive navigation links.
  • There is a mechanism for the user to pause, stop, or hide moving or scrolling information that starts automatically, lasts more than 5 seconds, and is presented in parallel with other content.
  • Online forms are designed allowing assistive technology to access the information, field elements, and functionality required for completion and submission of the form, including all directions and cues.

We are continuously working to increase accessibility standards and meet all levels of accessibility conformance and guidelines.

Report a Digital Accessibility Issue

If you have any other questions or concerns, please contact the webmaster. Managers of state websites can find additional accessibility resources on the Digital Commons support site