The NCDOR has published a notice about recent changes to how the penalty for failure to pay a tax when due is calculated.
ORBITSubscribe to ORBIT feed
Pandemic Recovery Office (PRO)Subscribe to Pandemic Recovery Office (PRO) feed
Public StaffSubscribe to Public Staff feed
ReadyNCSubscribe to ReadyNC feed
Rebuild NCSubscribe to Rebuild NC feed
RevenueSubscribe to Revenue feed
The N.C. Department of Revenue received more than 23,000 applications for Phase 2 of the Business Recovery Grant (BRG) program that closed on June 1, 2022. Given the large number of applications to be reviewed and the administrative complexities involved in verifying and calculating award amounts, the Department is unable to give an exact timeline of when grant applicants can expect to be formally notified and checks are mailed to recipient businesses.
The deadline for businesses impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic to apply for Phase 2 of the Business Recovery Grant Program is Wednesday, June 1.
A Charlotte man was arrested on May 24, 2022, for felony tax charges filed by the North Carolina Attorney General’s Office on behalf of the North Carolina Department of Revenue.
The N.C. Department of Revenue is Accepting Applications for Phase 2 of the Business Recovery Grant Program
Phase two of the Business Recovery Grant program is going strong, with more than 7,000 applications submitted so far. The application period is open until June 1.
The NCDOR has published a notice about the new deduction for certain military retirement pay and Survivor Benefit Plan payments.
The N.C. Department of Revenue Accepts Applications for Phase 2 of the Business Recovery Grant Program
Phase 2 of the Business Recovery Grant (BRG) program begins on Monday, May 2. Many additional businesses now qualify for these grants due to updates to the program’s eligibility criteria. BRG will issue a payment to an eligible North Carolina business that suffered an economic loss of at least 20 percent during the pandemic. The grant amount is a percentage of the economic loss demonstrated by the eligible business or $500,000, whichever is less. The application deadline is Wednesday, June 1.
N.C. Department of Revenue Will Present A Webinar on Phase 2 of the Business Recovery Grant Program on Wednesday, May 4
Taxpayers can learn about the expanded eligibility for recovery grant money and much more at the N.C. Department of Revenue (NCDOR) webinar on Phase 2 of the Business Recovery Grant (BRG) program on Wednesday, May 4. The session will begin at 11 a.m.
The NCDOR plans to launch the application for Phase 2 of the Business Recovery Grant (BRG) program on Monday, May 2, with changes to the program’s eligibility criteria allowing many additional businesses to qualify for these grants.
A Boone businessman pleaded guilty in Wake County Superior Court to felony tax charges filed by the North Carolina Department of Revenue.
The deadline for filing calendar year North Carolina individual income tax returns is Monday, April 18, unless you request an extension. Electronically filed returns must be submitted electronically by midnight on April 18. For taxpayers filing via paper, returns must be postmarked by April 18.
Roanoke Island Festival ParkSubscribe to Roanoke Island Festival Park feed
Safety and Health Review CommissionSubscribe to Safety and Health Review Commission feed
State Board of ElectionsSubscribe to State Board of Elections feed
The State Board of Elections on Thursday voted not to recognize the Green Party as an official political party in North Carolina, citing an ongoing investigation into evidence of fraud and other irregularities in the petition process used to seek ballot access for the party.
With the North Carolina House of Representatives today considering a bill to mandate that no voter be denied the ability to vote in the uniform required by their job, the State Board of Elections wishes to make clear to voters that they are already entitled to vote wearing the uniform of their job. The bill would clarify what is already the law.
The State Board of Elections will hold a remote meeting beginning at 9 a.m. on Thursday, June 30, 2022.
Voters in 15 North Carolina counties will go to the polls on July 26 in a mix of municipal general elections, runoff elections and, in Graham and Wake counties, second primaries for sheriff.
Two voter advocacy organizations have begun sending mailings to nearly 450,000 North Carolinians to encourage them to register to vote.
The State Board of Elections has opened a written public comment period for a request by the North Carolina Republican Party for the State Board to authorize county boards of elections to scrutinize voter signatures on absentee ballot request forms and absentee ballot return envelopes, to determine whether to count those ballots in North Carolina elections.
The State Board of Elections on Thursday unanimously certified the results of the 2022 statewide primary and municipal elections, which were held on May 17.
The State Board of Elections will hold a remote meeting beginning at 11 a.m. Thursday, June 9, 2022.
Under state law, election officials must release the number of provisional ballots cast in each county by noon two days after each election. The State Board surveyed the 100 county boards of elections and provides the provisional ballots cast during the 2022 statewide primary election at the link below.
The day after the May 17 primary, the State Board of Elections will randomly select precincts, early voting sites, and absentee-by-mail ballots to be counted by hand in each county to confirm accuracy of the results counted by machine.
The 2022 statewide primary election is Tuesday, May 17, and the State Board of Elections wants to be sure that media representatives and voters have answers to common questions about Election Day and post-election processes.
North Carolina elections officials will host a news conference at 11 a.m. Tuesday to provide information and answer questions about Primary Election Day.
With in-person early voting ending at 3 p.m. Saturday, May 14, Primary Election Day is right around the corner – on Tuesday, May 17. The following are 12 tips for voters who cast their ballot on Primary Election Day.
As in-person early voting begins, North Carolina elections officials are reminding voters about how they can be confident their vote is counted this election season. Absentee-by-mail voting began in late March. In-person early voting has begun and runs through Saturday, May 14. Primary Election Day is Tuesday, May 17. Depending on which voting method you choose, there are different ways of knowing that your ballot was received and counted by your county board of elections.
12:06 p.m: The State Board of Elections will hold a remote meeting beginning at 9 a.m. on Thursday, May 12, 2022.
12:01 p.m: North Carolina’s 17-day, in-person early voting period begins Thursday, April 28, and ends at 3 p.m. Saturday, May 14.
3:57 p.m: The NC State Board of Elections has won a national award for its work on a program designed to foster better collaboration between the state agency and the 100 county boards of elections and improve the administration of elections for voters and candidates.
1:22 p.m: The regular voter registration deadline is Friday, April 22 for North Carolinians who want to vote on Primary Election Day, May 17, or by mail.
1:33 p.m: The Judicial Voter Guide for the 2022 Primary Election is now available online at the State Board of Elections’ website.
3:33 p.m: The State Board of Elections meeting scheduled for April 11 has been canceled.